Alaska Mariculture Alliance Logo

The Alaska Mariculture Alliance, Inc. (AMA) is an Alaskan nonprofit corporation, the members of which include aquatic farmers, Alaska Native organizations, primary and secondary processors, research institutions, coastal communities, and others interested in the development of mariculture in Alaska. Our mission is to grow sustainable shellfish and kelp industries in Alaska, putting into practice the tasks identified in the 2021 Mariculture Task Force’s Report to Governor Dunleavy.

The AMA website is under construction. For information on the United States Economic Development Administration’s $49,000,000 award to the Mariculture Cluster under the Build Back Better Regional Challenge, please go to the Alaska Mariculture Cluster website.

Registration is open for the Second Annual Mariculture Conference of Alaska (AMCA)

Occurring in Juneau on February 15-17, 2023. For the conference agenda, registration, and information about financial support for travel, please click here.

The AMA’s 2023 Membership Meeting will occur on the first day of AMCA, February 15, from 9:00-12:30, at One Sealaska Plaza, Suite 400. In-person participation is encouraged, but members can also participate remotely. All AMA members will receive the meeting materials, including Zoom information, by February 1, 2023.

Interested in joining the Alaska Mariculture Alliance?

Please contact Executive Director Jason Lessard at for more information on joining the AMA.

Photo Credit: Seagrove Kelp Co.

Photo Credit: Erik O’Brien

Photo Credit: Melissa Ward


Alaska Mariculture Alliance
PO Box 240541
Anchorage, AK 99524

Executive Director
Jason Lessard

Alaska Sea Grant Fellow
Doug Shaftel

Board of Directors

  • President
    Eric Wyatt, Blue Starr Oyster Company
  • Secretary
    Tommy Sheridan, City of Cordova
  • Treasurer
    Markos Scheer, Seagrove Kelp Co.
  • Heather McCarty, Central Bering Sea Fishermen’s Association
  • Anthony Lindoff, Alaska Shellfish Growers Association
  • Thea Thomas, Royal Ocean Kelp Company
  • Ginny Eckert, Alaska Sea Grant
  • Michael Stekoll, University of Alaska Fairbanks College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences